Saving Face


Early last week, one of my Indian office mate (Abdulhamid) received a warning letter from our HR that he was untidy and smelly, and threatened to apply salary deduction. While sobbing, he showed the letter to me and mentioned that ‘this is your payoff for all the good things you tried to share and exerted to this company’. With caution I asked him if that was true. He directly told me that he cannot avoid it because he has a sweating problem. Gosh.. only then I knew that somebody right there from our office share the same sweating problem like me!..

Immediately I told to Abdulhamid not to lose his composure; and assured him that I myself will assist in solving this issue. It’s really a long time I tried to bypass my office mates’ negative comments about this condition. Now this is such a relief for me to validate acceptance of our situation.

I wrote a separate e-mail addressed to our Administration and HR manager that they are wrong in labeling Abdulhamid as ‘untidy’. Aside from telling them that their accusation has nothing to do with his work performance, I told them that he did not choose to experience being untidy; in fact he cannot avoid being untidy because of his sweating problem. I told them that he has body and axillary hyperhidrosis, while I have palmo-plantar hyperhidrosis.. Finally i emphasized to them that they have no idea how we suffered trying to adjust with┬áthis condition.

After that, I informed to Abdulhamid what I did. I waited if the HR will call us for further reprimand but interestingly, the week almost passed and we never heard anything from them. I asked Abdulhamid for anything and said he never heard anything also, neither the HR opened the topic again as if nothing was circulated..

Whether they will accept us or not, what really matter is understanding the condition which can be possible only by raising the issue into public awareness. An understanding that life has imperfections; but the way we live makes it perfectly wonderful. And a trust that if the situation is beyond our control, we can rest assured with our Creator who has the total control of everything when he said “be still and know that I am the Lord..” I encourage you to please share your similar experiences to reinforce all of us.


  1. May 10, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Hi, I’m sorry to hear about your and your friend’s condition. I’m also a plantar hyperhidrosis sufferer and that is what drove me to find as much as I can about this condition and possible remedies (although I’m looking not only at hyperhidrosis). Would you mind telling me how bad your particular case is and if you’ve found a solution, care to share it? You can email me anytime. Thanks

  2. May 12, 2013 at 2:29 am

    hi vinnie thanks for your comment..
    i tried almost everything; from botox to iontophoresis, but still i have this condition.
    i am trying to get a sock and gloves designed for hyperhidrosis.. have you heard about it..
    you can google it and find leading suppliers via website

    http://www.runningwarehouse.com/

    try to seach this supplier via google also:
    TDS Healthcare Ltd

    feel free to write again..

  3. May 21, 2013 at 10:15 am

    I didn’t find any socks for hyperhidrosis there. I’m wondering if that’s going to be enough though. If the amount of sweat is excessive, how much can socks help. absorption would be limited, unless of course it somehow accelerates evaporation. wouldn’t that be nice. Do product like sweat block, driclor, etc not work for you?

    • September 9, 2013 at 10:33 am

      Hello Vinnie. Nice hearing from you..

      No. Driclor worked only for me on a very limited result.

      Try to google Drymax socks and TDS Silver Sock. Read the descriptions there.

  4. jakenelson09
    July 5, 2014 at 2:23 am

    Hi there everyone,

    I’ve recently created a blog to promote the awareness of hyperhidrosis in the world. Not many people know what it is if they have never dealt with it before. My goal is to increase the awareness of this disorder so that perhaps someday, the next generation of HH sufferers will not have to hear “Ew, your hands are so wet!”

    Please give my blog a visit, and let me know of any improvements I can make! It is fairly new, and does not have a ton of content yet, but I would love to hear your input!

    http://hyperhidrosis-support.com/

    Thank you,

    Jake Nelson

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

